Emeritus Professor at the Pasteur Institute, Emeritus Director of Research at INSERM, ex-president of ANRS-SaB and president of Sidaction. She heads the Regulation of Retroviral Infection Unit at the Institute Pasteur (Paris). A recipient of the 2008 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine for the discovery of human immunodeficiency virus, she has initiated research programs in viral and host determinants of HIV/AIDS pathogenesis and HIV vaccine research. Today, the research programs of her team are focused on mechanisms required to protect against HIV/SIV infections or controlling AIDS, in particular at the level of innate immunity.

Institut Pasteur